Estrons – You Say I’m Too Much, I Say You’re Not Enough

<[star rating="4"]

The sound of Welsh outfit Estrons is hard to pin down. However, this is very much by design than by accident. What they have achieved however, is no easy feat. This sonic force, driven by thunderous bass and off kilter guitar riffs carries the distinctive hues of numerous influences, while remaining unmistakably theirs. Instantly recognizable from the moment it hits your eardrums

Meeting on an Aberystwyth beach, singer Tali Källström and guitarist Rhodri Daniel were two strangers with disparate tastes, influences and personalities. It’s this beautiful dichotomy that makes Estrons what they are. Tight, structured melodies that can also brood darkly. Visceral and emotive vocals, that run the gamut of human sensation and experience. This dichotomy is reflected also in not only the album’s title but also its cover. You Say I’m Too Much, I Say You’re Not Enough’s cover contrasting cold water to the face, with the violent, heated eruption of a volcano.

An eruption is how this record begins with Lilac. An absolute banger, make no mistake. It pounds from the start, drenched in feedback before opening up space for some great guitar hooks and forceful vocal lines that are immediate sing-alongs. Straight away, it’s a foot on the gas tune that’s brilliantly produced and arranged. Knowing exactly when to build and when to break.

After the bowel shaking beginnings of Lilac, Killing Your Love starts with a much thinner sound. This Slitsesque tale of love addiction gathers pace however, to a raucous, distorted frenzy.  “I originally wrote it about a specific person who I felt was a love addict,” says Tali, “but then after I wrote it, I realized we’re all terrified of being alone.” The line “I heard you met the one… the one you met the other week,” pointing towards herself as much as it is anyone else. “I like switching perspectives,” says Källström. “I’ll go from talking to another person to talking to myself.

Switching perspectives is exactly what happens on Make a Man. Kali turning the tables on female objectification. Singing of the desire to unbutton the starched collar of male ego, the refrain of “ I’d like to make a man of you, I’d like to fuck you, and fuck you” sticking a finger in the eye of patriarchy. There are moments of lightness in the sound of Strangers. Where the melody carries more straight up pop sensibilities. However, its lyrical content addresses the moment we release a relationship is dying on the vine. Failing to see the positives in life for what they are, fear of change and fear of starting over. With Kali laying herself out with brutal honesty. Imploring for acceptance for who she really is.

Body is sub-three minute rejection of the oppressive idealized physical standards that are foisted upon us by the media. It’s a tune that bristles with the infectious hooks that run through this album like a stick of rock. Sonic storm clouds gather for Jade, with the vocals carrying pure emotion. That emotive vocal carries through into Cameras. Written for Kali’s son, the song expresses her unbreakable love. One that burns in defiance of the challenges she’s faced to maintain custody as a single mother and musician.

After the marching sound of Jesus, Aliens examines the bands roots while simultaneously questioning the concept of nationality in the modern age. ‘Estrons’ in itself is a bastardised ‘Wenglish’ word for ‘Strangers’ or ‘Aliens’ in the Welsh language, of which they are all proud speakers. There’s a throttling back for this number before it punches you with the albums title.

Finishing perfectly with Drop, who’s lyrics were conceived inside a police cell after Kali was incarcerated following a drunken kick at the world. It’s a powerchord and feedback laden finale to a brilliant album.  

You Say I’m Too much, I Say You’re Not Enough is an examination of the turmoil and polar forces that rage with us and around us. A cathartic, primal album that frees the rage that society forces us to repress. There’s light to the darkness though. For every moment of vitriol there’s one of love and compassion. For every moment of self-assured swagger, there’s one of vulnerability. This is the sound of a band that have opposing forces coursing within them. Not shy of discussing the love hate relationship that exists between the band “Abrupt endings are common,” says Rhodri of Estrons’ songs. Lets just pray this isn’t a prophecy for the band.

You Say I’m Too Much, I Say You’re Not Enough is released October 5th on The Orchard / Gofod Records and can be Pre-Ordered here.


1. Lilac
2. Killing Your Love
3. Make A Man
4. Strangers
5. Body
6. Jade
7. Cameras
8. Jesus…
9. Aliens
10. Drop

Connect with Estrons

Official Website






Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.